Allied Van Lines Reviews







Since 1928 Allied Van Lines has been helping families move nationwide. We offer long distance moving services nationwide. State to state moving, storage options are avaialbel as well as specialty packing/crating. We offer weight based estimates to help calculate your move. Call Now For a Free Quote.

 

Overall Rating

 

4.4
Customer Reviews
17

Allied Van Lines Review

As one of the most reputable names in the industry, Allied Van Lines has been offering affordable and reliable moving services for over 91 years. They are the largest network of movers on the planet and a full-service company that covers all types of packing, transfers and unpacking services. They specialize in both local and long distance moves for domestic residential and commercial customers as well as international clients. They provide a la carte options which are suitable for people who wish to cover most of the aspects of their relocation on their own, but feel the need to use an extra hand as well.

Allied Vanlines History and Awards

The Allied moving company is an American-based company originally founded in 1928 in the form of a non-profit organization that was owned by moving agents located on the East Coast. Originally, the organization was meant to plan return loads and keep dead-heading to a minimum. Four decades after its founding, it became a public company with shareholders. In 1999, a bold move followed: Allied Worldwide holding company was born as a result of Allied Worldwide merging with its biggest competitor, North American Van Lines. Three years later, the company was rebranded “SIRVA”. In 2018, Allied Vanlines won the title for the second-best mover as part of a top Ten Best Coast to Coast Movers in America.

Allied Van Lines Services

This Allied Van Lines review will now speak about one of the things that clearly distinguishes this mover from other companies: its professional commitment to each and every customer, no matter how big or small. The company is one of the leading residential, commercial, corporate and international movers in the US and the entire world. This is due to their constant struggle to make any long distance move as easy, streamlined and free of stress as possible. With high-quality, permanent skill training and know-how upgrades for each of its technicians, Allied is packed with the most talented team of movers that can conveniently and efficiently relocate any load to any location with minimum disruptions. They are ready to handle full service moves along with bespoke DIY requests with the same level of expertize and skill.

Here are the main types of services they offer:

 

Residential moves

Allied Vanlines specializes in the entire array of moving services for a variety of customers and requests, ranging from basic to additional household and commercial moving services, including packing, furniture disassembly and reassembly at the new address, temporary storage and more.

Long distance moves

The further the distance to your new home or commercial space, the more complicated your relocation will be. The rich years of experience behind each of the Allied technicians will assist you  with your flawless move and make sure all your precious items will safely reach their destination with zero damage.

Cross Country Moving
The Allied moving company has an impressively large network of movers spread across the entire country and other parts of the world, which means you can pick any destination on the globe and ask them to relocate you there and they will have no problem doing it.

Interstate Moving

Moving from one state to another can be a hassle, especially if you are preparing for a complex corporate move or a 5-bedroom home relocation. Allied is ready to take care of full or partial packing needs, temporary storage, furniture disassembling and reassembling, fragile item packing and anything else you may need help.

Corporate Relocation

The company specializes in corporate moves that will make sure all the equipment and important records are moved on time and in a 100% secure manner for fast activity resuming.

International Moving

One of the most complex types of moves due to the logistics it incurs, usually more than just one fleet of vans and trucks. The Allied team has the necessary manpower and know-how to make your relocation to a brand new land as smooth as possible.

Storage Services

Allied Van Lines offers flexible temporary storage solutions ranging from in transit storage for up to 90 days and permanent storage (more than 90 days).

Packing and Supplies

Allied offers full service packing service or partial services with the possibility to rely on their DIY packing supplies.

Inventory Services

Allied handles detailed inventories to make sure all your items are well packed and ready to go in their vans and trucks. In case anything is to get misplaced or damaged during transportation, they will immediately know by using the inventory list. The inventory also contains information on the current state of your items and the contents of each box. By using the DIY packing alternative, you will not benefit from the same detailed inventory for each of your boxes.

Allied Vanlines Moving Costs

Allied Van Lines uses the cargo weight and volume as well as the relocation distance when offering their price estimates. They also factor in the loading and unloading time when issuing their Allied Vanlines moving costs. They charge for a minimum of 4 hours, so make sure you keep that in mind if you need their help for a shorter move across town. Expect to pay approximately $99 per hour as a base rate, two movers and one moving truck, with an extra $36 per hour for any extra moving technician.

Also, keep in mind prices go up in spring and summer. Schedule your in-person estimate and find out the exact Allied Vanlines move costs from your own agent and start planning your move.  

 

Allied Moving Company Ratings

Allied Van Lines is an Accredited BBB Business since 1/09/2012, has an A+ rating and it is also a member of AMSA. Its USDOT number is 76235 according to the FMCSA.

 

Conclusion

Allied Van Lines has over nine decades of experience working in the trade and its reputation, training, skill and consideration for each long distance or international customer recommend it as a top mover for your needs. Get your free Allied quote today!

IVAN

 2019-06-30

Rating:

 

Very satisfied

 

My family consists of seven and that�s really a big family. We had so much of stuff to pack. There were a group of 6 guys from Allied Van Lines as we requested more people than usual. Our house had five different bedrooms and it took almost five hours to just pack and load them. Another couple more hours to unload them in the venue.

I am really happy with the quality of service rendered and the team for doing such a good job. They were dedicated to the task and worked ever since they arrived at my home. The entire family helped them but the big items were not an easy move. Really recommended for anyone.

CARLOS

 2019-06-25

Rating:

 

Great Service !Thanks Guys!

 

I hired Allied Van Lines without really knowing much about them. They gave me quite a low quote and I was pleased. They were very efficient and organized. The movers seemed very experienced with handling heavy pieces of furniture. They were particularly good at packing glassware. All my glassware survived the journey which is remarkable. A table suffered some scratches but I�m not really concerned about that. They stuck to the original quote at the end of the move and there were no hidden costs. I sincerely thank them for making my move so easy.

DIEGO

 2019-06-22

Rating:

 

Reliable movers

 

I was pleasantly surprised because even though I confirmed my move with Allied Van Lines just a week ago, there were in my house as promised on moving day.

It is a known fact that most companies would charge exorbitant rates in order to schedule a move at the last minute. But, these people didn�t try to rip me off. They charged a nominal fee apart from the package costs and it made me happy.

Without a doubt, I would whole heartedly recommend them. They are excellent movers in all aspects. They excel at what they do and the rates are competitive. Reliable movers.

JAMESON

 2019-06-15

Rating:

 

Highly recommend them

 

It�s not easy to recommend a moving company to a friend or family unless you are totally satisfied with their job. I am a highly satisfied customer who has now turned into a loyal patron for Allied Van Lines. Their professionalism, attention to detail, punctuality and pricing were all well-balanced to a great extent.

The team who came to my home, a group of five people where plain awesome. I spoke to one of them named Michael and he was really courteous. Even my wife and kids were happy with how they took care of our pet dog Vader. The goods were meticulously packed to avoid any damage and they even loaded foam papers on the side of the truck to reduce friction.

I highly recommend them for anyone planning to move to Philly, New Jersey, New York or other areas where they offer their services. It was great hiring you guys!

BLAKE

 2019-06-04

Rating:

 

Professionals

 

To be honest, I really crave perfection especially when it comes to making my home look good. The moving personnel sent by Allied Van Lines quickly understood my requirements and were patient enough to place the furniture as requested. They were never in a hurry to get the job done which is an added plus.I have had really bad experiences but after working this team, I don�t think there�s a need to look further. The packing quality was excellent. They were on time and stayed late so as to arrange them in the new flat. I gave them some refreshments and relaxed in the afternoon with my entire family. It was so wonderful and a memorable experience.

AXEL 2019-05-30Rating:
Awesome Experience
The moving experience was simply awesome and we were totally happy with what the company offered. I found the Allied Van Lines official website through a Google search and found that they had plenty of good reviews from their customers. I decided to give it a try for my next move and the surprise came in. Allied Van Lines knew what they were doing. I had to instruct them very little. We have a small piano in our house. As I told them earlier, the team came with the essential packing and moving materials to load it into the truck. The awesome experience still lingers in my mind and I thank them for their professionalism.

EVERETT 2019-05-24

AXEL

 2019-05-30

Rating:

 

Awesome Experience

 

The moving experience was simply awesome and we were totally happy with what the company offered. I found the Allied Van Lines official website through a Google search and found that they had plenty of good reviews from their customers. I decided to give it a try for my next move and the surprise came in. Allied Van Lines knew what they were doing. I had to instruct them very little. We have a small piano in our house. As I told them earlier, the team came with the essential packing and moving materials to load it into the truck. The awesome experience still lingers in my mind and I thank them for their professionalism.

EVERETT

 2019-05-24

Rating:

 

Super careful, Courteous and Respectful

 

After a lot of disappointments I no longer wanted to move but this time my job betrayed me and I had no other option in hand. After a long research I finally came up with Allied Van Lines and they impressed me all the way! I moved an eight-room house including many full sized appliances, a grill, big furniture and what felt like a zillion framed pictures and boxes with fragile stuff. It was a LONG day for all of them but they didn�t do a single complain! The movers were super careful, courteous, respectful and good-natured. They were exceptionally competent and I would not hesitate to recommend them again!!!

JUSTIN

 2019-05-17

Rating:

 

Very professional

 

After a terrible experience with a few weird moving companies a few years back, I was very hesitant to trust anybody with my move from Dover, DE to Phoenix, AZ. But the reviews of Allied Van Lines didn’t lie. This company was very professional, their sales rep Matthew and the dispatcher returned phone calls timely, showed up on time for the pick-up and on delivery day. I had all of my furniture within 10 days and everything was in great condition. I do not wish to move any long distance but for those who are planning to move, this company is a great option for you guys! For the great service, affordable price, timeliness and quality of care, I’d recommend this company to everybody!

LUIS

 2019-05-10

Rating:

 

Fantastic Service

 

I am always calculative about any kind of cost that comes my way but this time no matter how reasonable some companies were, I refused to hire them because I wanted a good service. Though the charge of Allied Van Lines seemed a little higher than my budget, I was okay with it as I got a fantastic service. So it was a great deal indeed!

MAXWELL

 2019-04-28

Rating:

 

Great Service!

 

I have been thinking to share my experience. It�s been couple of weeks that I worked with Allied Van Lines. I moved permanently for New York to be with my fianc�. Moving is always a disturbing situation for me. So I wanted to make it secure under any circumstance. I called to several companies and at last Allied Van Lines was my ultimate selection due to their low cost and courteous behavior. Later on when I observed their job, how they were giving effort, my pressure level went way down. They were careful enough to packing my every house hold belongings. They delivered it on time also. Nothing was damaged and they also helped me out at our new place too. Keep up the good work guys.

AVERY

 2019-04-13

Rating:

 

Highly recommend this company

 

We had a large apartment that consist four rooms. Allied Van Lines sent three movers with a foreman at our home to assist us out of our requirements. It was very hard to move all the furniture due to the tight corners but they handled it so well. We were asking them whether they need support, they warmly refused and replied that was their job and they were able to finish their own responsibilities. These guys were enjoyable and fast. I highly recommend this company to everyone.

BENJAMIN

 2019-04-05

Rating:

 

Definitely use them again

 

I hired Allied Van Lines on the advice of my nephew. Their sales rep seemed a very promising guy and gave me the exact package I wanted. On moving day three guys came and they called to let me know they were on their way which was so nice of them and showed up on time. They were all really nice, friendly guys. They were completely prepared and had all of my stuff packed, which made my moving day smooth. They made sure all of my stuff was wrapped up and padded before moving it into the truck and when we got to my new place they made sure everything was in the place I wanted and nothing was broken. I would definitely use these guys again for my next move.

ABIGAIL

 2019-03-21

Rating:

 

Great Movers

 

I’d been reviewing many moving companies for my first ever move in life. It was moving from Boston to Indianapolis and I found this company with all the good stars and all. So, I decided to use Allied Van Lines and I was never wrong. From the estimate, to the packing to the delivery, everything was great once again. I hope I�ll be dealing with them in my future moves.

LUKE

 2019-03-09

Rating:

 

Very satisfied

 

I have a hard time trusting just any moving company with all my valuables. That�s why I entrusted Allied Van Lines as they were highly referred by one of my closest friends. I do not have a lot of stuffs but the pieces I have are very special to me. I asked the movers to be very careful with them. I have to say, they were very sincere. They were extra careful while maneuvering my furniture through my tiny house not to leave marks anywhere. Everything arrived in good condition and I couldn�t be happier.

CALEB

 2019-02-08

Rating:

 

Easy relocation

 

I had a quick easy call with a representative from Allied Van Lines who walked me through the binding estimate and went through my inventory list with me. It was fairly easy considering I was already packed and planned the move 10 days later. The best way to not see your estimate raise is by having a realistic estimate of how much you’re bringing. We had a 2 story 2 bedroom home. There’s gonna be a lot of stuff I didn’t plan for. But I booked in time to not be a rush job and still have a good estimate of how much I was really taking. The movers were pretty laid back and did their jobs well without rushing. But they still got done in a timely manner. The truck got to the new address, within the 2 weeks promised and it’s all still here. No damage, nothing missing. They easily get 5 stars.

CALEB

 2019-02-08

Rating:

 

Easy relocation

 

I had a quick easy call with a representative from Allied Van Lines who walked me through the binding estimate and went through my inventory list with me. It was fairly easy considering I was already packed and planned the move 10 days later. The best way to not see your estimate raise is by having a realistic estimate of how much you’re bringing. We had a 2 story 2 bedroom home. There’s gonna be a lot of stuff I didn’t plan for. But I booked in time to not be a rush job and still have a good estimate of how much I was really taking. The movers were pretty laid back and did their jobs well without rushing. But they still got done in a timely manner. The truck got to the new address, within the 2 weeks promised and it’s all still here. No damage, nothing missing. They easily get 5 stars.

RYAN

 2019-02-03

Rating:

 

I would recommend them

 

I would most definitely recommend using Allied Van Lines. I booked a few weeks before and asked for 3 movers who could show up at 1 pm and load a truck I provide myself. They showed up 10 minutes early ready to work. The team handled themselves well and the process was really simple and easy. They arrived to the new apartment separately and unloaded the truck in an hour. There were no extra fees like a stairs charge or something else equally ridiculous. I paid for exactly what I got which was awesome. It is definitely worth the money.

FAQ

How much does Allied Van Lines cost?

On average, you can expect to pay around $550 for a small local move with no extra packing or furniture disassembling charges. Μoving a two-bedroom apartment with partial or full packing services included with Allied Van Lines could cost a few thousand dollars, while cross-country moves with the same mover could reach up $5,000 or more, depending on the size of the move, the distance, the weight of the cargo and the additional services you may need.

Is Allied Van Lines a broker?

Allied Van Lines started as a nonprofit cooperative in 1928 and it continued to grow and evolve over the decades, becoming one of the most powerful and trustworthy moving companies in the United States. No, the company is not a broker, which means it is not a sales team that books moves and sells them to moving companies.

How can I file and receive an Allied Van Lines settlement on a claim?

As unpleasant as they might be, on rare occasions and usually because of factors that are out of their hands, Allied Van Lines clients may need to file a claim. Leaving a problem unresolved is not desirable and knowing the exact steps of a claims settlement procedure should steer you clear from additional problems. Start by finding out exactly what is your coverage and prepare the necessary documents you will be asked to provide, including a detailed inventory encompassing all the damaged goods, the valuation coverage, as well as the damage claimed. Make sure to leave all the damaged items untouched until the claim is fully resolved. This may take a few days up to a few weeks. The released value coverage is more affordable, but it also means you will benefit from minimal protection against any damage during the relocation. Expect to be paid You $.60 per pound of lost or damaged items. The full extra care protection coverage will provide you with greater coverage suitable for when relocating large musical instruments and expensive items. Whenever possible, the movers will try to repair your damaged items instead of replacing them, given the fact that they may have sentimental value.

How does a relocation consultant work?

Once the Allied relocation consultant will arrive at your address, they will begin to survey the items you will need them to move. This will be done by calculating the weight and/or volume of the cargo, the packing costs, gas, toll fees, parking and temporary storage and any other charges connected to the relocation. It is possible for the consultant to go kitchen cabinets and bedroom closets to ensure all the items that need to be moved are well-acknowledged prior to issuing the most accurate estimate.

Is Allied Van Lines a good mover?

Allied is one of the top cross-country movers that specialize in residential and commercial moves across the nation, with affordable prices and a pristine reputation built over the decades. Read our full Allied review and find out more about the history of the company, their exact line of work and why they are one of the top vetted movers on our site.

When do I need to pay for Allied Van Lines moving services?

All Allied moving charges should be paid before the unloading of the cargo is completed at the destination, according to schedule. Make sure to talk through all accepted payment options with your moving consultant and have all the details set up prior to the day when the movers will load your belongings in their trucks.

Can I use cash or credit cards when hiring Allied Van Lines?

You can pay using cash, money orders or checks. It is also possible to use credit cards, but you will need to make the necessary arrangements this your service provider. For a corporate move that will be paid by your employer, they will be responsible for making sure that they will be billed pre-with the help of invoices.